Board of Zoning Appeals


The Board of Zoning Appeals is a trustee-appointed board responsible for hearing all requests for variances, conditional uses, administrative appeals, and modification or substitution of non-conforming uses. The board serves as a quasi-judicial body created under the Ohio Revised Code.

All decisions of the Board of Zoning Appeals may be appealed to the Montgomery County Court of Common Pleas.


Please refer to the Zoning Applications page for more information on specific applications heard by the Zoning Commission below.

  • Variance
  • Conditional Use
  • Administrative Appeal
  • Non-conforming Use Modification

Board of Zoning Appeals Meetings

2023 Meeting Dates and Application Deadlines

The Board of Zoning Appeals meetings are the first Monday of every month at 6 p.m. Please note, meetings may be moved due to holidays or other scheduling conflicts. 

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes will be posted and available following Board of Zoning Appeals approval.

 View All Agendas and Minutes | Meeting Materials


The BZA is composed of five (5) regular members and one (1) alternate member.  Regular members of the Board are appointed for five (5) year terms with the alternate being appointed for one (1) year.  Current membership is below:

  • John Broz, Chairperson
  • Gregory Clatterbuck, Vice Chairperson
  • Jake Fryman
  • James Hamilton
  • Fred Sinder
  • Bill Skudlarek (Alternate)